Beyond Technical Interviews: Rethinking Hiring Criteria for Top Talent.

Beyond Technical Interviews: Rethinking Hiring Criteria for Top Talent.

Although technical interviews are a commonly-used tool to identify the most suitable candidates, they often overlook the immense potential of many good or even exceptional employees.

As a developer myself, I can attest to this fact. I am someone who consistently goes above and beyond to resolve issues, even if they are not within my designated responsibilities.

I am always willing to carry the weight of the company on my shoulders, and I consistently exceed performance expectations. However, I struggle when it comes to technical interviews.

Whether due to nerves or other factors, I may not perform as well as I know I am capable of.

My personal experience has given me a unique perspective on how to hire the best candidates for my future endeavors. I am now convinced that technical interviews should not serve as the sole criterion for assessing the suitability of a candidate. In my next piece, I will elaborate on alternative benchmarks that should be used for hiring, in order to ensure that companies attract and retain top talent.

Don’t forget to clap if you find this article interesting.

Follow me here: https://twitter.com/BillionsJoel